Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Sex and Dating  > Sex without being married and religious belief      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 twoshadows
Msg: 26
Sex without being married and religious beliefPage 2 of 4    (1, 2, 3, 4)
Well,I am Catholic,but I guess just not a good Catholic. I don't follow most of the teachings as I don't think they are the same today as when they were written.
 WarmthNpassion
Msg: 27
view profile
History
Sex without being married and religious belief
Posted: 1/5/2008 8:22:43 AM
I have been a student of religion for a good part of my life. Although, I could talk about any of the major religions, to keep this less than a series of books, my answers relate to Christianity because that's the major religion of the English speaking world.

I have always noticed that today’s churches are filled with what I call “à la carte” Christians. They look at the Bible like it where a menu and pick and choose what they want. Technically, if you follow the Bible to the letter of the Law, it allows married people to have intercourse only for the purpose of procreation. Sodomy is forbidden. Condoms and the pill and other birth control measures are forbidden. Pleasure and lust are forbidden outside of the production of a baby so even the old Catholic practice of pulling out right before male ejaculation is not allowed.