Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Ireland  > Magical mystical Ireland, let's explore and explode some of the myths      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 Miss Grundy
Msg: 1
Magical mystical Ireland, let's explore and explode some of the myths...Page 1 of 1    
A number of years ago I studied Environmental Conservation management with particular emphasis on studying the Irish landscape and learning ways and means to protect it i.e. the conservation, preservation and protection of our natural and cultural heritage.

If people are interested in this subject I would recommend reading a book called "Reading the Irish Landscape" by Frank Mitchell & Michael Ryan published by Townhouse.

Anyway...the point of my thread is to ask what is your knowledge or long held beliefs about various geographical occurrences in this country..

For example, during the course we did a module on archeology, our lecturer would often work during the summers as a tour guide to mainly North American tourists who were of Irish descent. He related a quite amusing story to us about the time that he was guiding some of them somewhere in Ireland when they came across a fairy ring and no matter how hard he tried to convince the tourists that it was perfectly ok to trespass what they considered a holy and magical area because it was actually a geographical phenomenon rather than some fairy built trap for wayward humans they refused to step into the fairy ring because of their superstitions.