Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Ask A Girl  > what to write in first message?      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 neldon
Msg: 1
what to write in first message?Page 1 of 1    
So if I come across a profile of a girl who seems really interesting, should I tell her what my name is and ask her hers? Or that is left AFTER a response?

I also tried two approaches in messages: one is to write a long description about myself, past, future goals, miscellaneous, and also sent very brief one-liners. Neither got replies. As this is my first time ever on a dating site, I don't know if girls want a lengthy introduction or don't have the time and prefer one sentence.
 WomanInProgress
Msg: 2
view profile
History
what to write in first message?
Posted: 10/2/2011 2:09:16 PM
1. Read her profile. Make sure based on what she's writing that she'd be open to you messaging her (if there's any indication).
2. Send her a message based on what you read and what you genuinely want to know in response to what her profile says. If you're interested and messaging her, you must have some interest in her - what interests you about her (besides the superficial, of course). That's what you ask more about.

Two paragraphs is probably too much. Two words is not enough.
 DoctorMatt
Msg: 3
Posted: 10/2/2011 2:22:01 PM