Any one else receive an email like this lately?
Hi! I am abuse manager of asacp.org, the organization which fights with
the child pornography expansion in Internet. We look through great number of
our member's reports. Though we are not governmental organization, we
gained a great experience working with FBI. In a number of cases we
participate in analyzing of data bases, got from web hosting providers, in
order to reveal child porno traffic systems.
I'd like to inform you that investigating activity of the one of child
porno sites; we found e-mails data base, in which was your e-mail
(email deleted as it isn't mine anyway!). In view of this, I have two versions: either you are the client
of this shop, or your e-mail appeared there accidentally. I sincerely
hope that it was accidental coincidence and believe that you are
interested in this version as well. If you show a good will, make modest,
voluntary donation on our site: http://www.asacp.org/donation.html, I will
be convinced in your being not implicated in this business. Don't forget
to indicate your e-mail address in the payment comment. In attachment
to this letter I sent all the details, showing that your e-mail address
found not accidentally in our database. Also there is the list of US
law clauses, under which you can be made answerable.
Good luck!
There is also a zip attachment which, obviously, I didn't open!
If you take time to visit the site..you will find a disclaimer there indicating they are aware of this "spoof" email, but it does not originate from them.
Just thought I'd pass it on to everyone as yet another example of the bent brains inhabiting the web these days!!