Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > UK forums  > Gay Marriage      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 scareymush
Msg: 56
Consanguineous marriage should be bannedPage 6 of 8    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
My Ma and Da were shopkeepers...I worked alongside my Da in his shop since age 12....nowadays they call shopkeepers entrepreneurs haha. But my parents, whilst wanting to earn a living, were more inclined to enjoy and be justifiably proud of providing a much-needed service.

Seriously, that's fascinating about your grandfather...I used to work as a gardener for a wonderful woman who I met when she was 83 years old, her husband, he was a Scot and he was a Protestant...she wasn't allowed to marry him in the eyes of the Catholic Church unless he converted. Now this woman, her name was Maureen, this woman was a lot like my mother....she was famous for fighting for Irish Travellers' rights and she loved being Catholic....her Scottish husband to be refused to convert to Catholicism, he said to her the Catholic Church was full of sh1t because they were insisting on his conversion otherwise the marriage would be illegal in the eyes of God...and their children would not be considered properly Catholic.

She married him because she loved him and knew he was the only man for her...they allowed them to marry in a Catholic church but not at the altar...in some side room in a church where nobody knew her, on a day when nobody was likely to notice...and she at 83 was still feeling so sad about that, she told me it made her question her belief but she remained defiant, retained her belief and understood that some people are just simply cruel and unfair.