Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Relationships  > Wife sues soon to be Ex-husband for 25 million for giving her an STD.      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 x_file
Msg: 26
Wife sues soon to be Ex-husband for 25 million for giving her an STD.Page 2 of 7    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)

Now the woman has filed a lawsuit for 25 million dollars. What is your opinion on such a lawsuit? . Seems life a slam dunk case to me, But I'm no lawyer.

Stories like that makes it harder and harder to trust people by the day. I'm not lawyer either, but it does seem like a slam dunk case.
 lawgeek74
Msg: 27
view profile
History
Wife sues soon to be Ex-husband for 25 million for giving her an STD.
Posted: 8/15/2008 12:06:28 PM
This is hardly a slam dunk case. I was wondering if she could recover any damages until I learned she could not work.

I can see where the wife could have trouble proving that it was the husbands actions that brought about her her case of HPV. She does have damages definitely, but she needs to prove that the husband gave her the virus. The burden of proof in civil cases is lower. This HPV could have been in her system for some time prior to her husband infidelity or she could have had other lovers. Even if the husband had HPV, it does not preclude her getting it independently of his actions outside the marriage. This would be an interesting case to follow.
 wisguyingb
Msg: 28
Posted: 8/15/2008 12:24:44 PM
Does the husband even have 25 million dollars? And hpv is very common, it's not like HIV or HSV.
 TxSippiGal
Msg: 29
view profile
History
Posted: 8/15/2008 3:38:36 PM