Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Dating Experiences  >      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 abelian
Msg: 230
Leagues aside... Page 5 of 14    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14)

Then there is the conversation factor. I am a literature teacher - I have two advanced degrees and I am working to complete my Ph.D. - focusing on cognition - I doubt very seriously Joe (the) Plumber, Joe Six Pack, or any of the other less than average Joes could hold their own with me in a conversation.... let alone life.

An intelligent person would never confuse intelligence and education with having gone to school. (If you think I'm saying that because I haven't gone to school, you'd be wrong. I'm a nuclear physicist.) An intelligent person would realize that ``Joe (the) Plumber,'' could teach her about plumbing (unless, of course, she already knows all about it.) If I took the position you're taking, you'd be in the same position you've put ``Joe (the) Plumber,'' since the chances that you're ever going to offer a stimulating conversation about relativistic quantum field theory are zero. However, I consider myself intelligent only because I can learn anything that interests anyone else and converse with those people at their level, not because they will never know something about an esoteric, highly specialized and generally useless field that I find interesting. As a result, I've learned a lot about plumbing, machining and other things and I know for a fact that there are ``Joe (the) Plumber(s)'' (or in my case, ``Jane (the) Plumbers'') who are pretty smart. I guess the flip side of your comment is, could you hold your own in a conversation with them?