Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Art/Music  > So why don't you play an instrument? (or do you?)      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 Tharmus
Msg: 101
So why don't you play an instrument? (or do you?)Page 5 of 7    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)
I've been playing guitar for 6 years, but I've always wanted to learn the drums and keyboard/piano.
 Sciencetreker
Msg: 102
view profile
History
So why don't you play an instrument? (or do you?)
Posted: 9/24/2012 5:05:13 PM
As I'ved posted above I've played for 42 years. The issue with guitar is that it isn't a 'natural' instrument to play. I've known a few well known rock guitarists and what people don't realize is that the 'image' is largely a front and many practice 8 hours or more a day.

One can 'fake' piano, fake French Horn, etc. but not so easy on guitar. It takes practice, practice and more practice..not so much like piano in repeating lessons but just noodling around...playing.

Anyways, don't give up. It gets easier. It takes a couple of years to stop figuring out how to make chords, find notes, etc. Difficult to play solo anything with proper rhythm in those first couple of years (way easier to play in a band setting if you've memorized a few riffs). The brain is thinking too much about the mechanics. Then presto...it starts to become magical. Once the basics are down then the creativity can take over...you can start improvising riffs, chord voicings, legato techniques, etc. You have 'arrived'.
 Automatic Slim
Msg: 103
view profile
History
Posted: 9/24/2012 8:00:03 PM