Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Dating Experiences  > Dating a person with mental illness scare u?      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 SerendipityHappens
Msg: 76
Dating a person with mental illness scare u?Page 4 of 10    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
My ex-husband ended our marriage because he believed that I was an FBI agent spying on him. It was horribly painful for me to see this amazingly beautiful person consumed by his own delusions. I would have stuck by him and try to help him but he abandoned me and disappeared because he went into hiding so I couldn't find him. I tried to have him involuntarily committed. I even traveled alone to his little Lebanese village in the heart of Hizzbolah to try to convince his family to send someone to the USA to try to talk to him but nothing worked because he doesn't KNOW he's paranoid.

I suppose it's a blessing in disguise that he abandoned me and left the country and gave up his green card and can't return because otherwise I would never have given up on him and I would have spent the rest of my life trying to take care of him.

Why would I knowingly enter into a relationship with another mentally ill person? I mean, sure I suppose I could handle something like if they were currently successfully being treated for mild to moderate depression, or occasional panic attacks but mania,paranoia, major depression? NO THANKS. My heart couldn't take going down that road again.
 anna2you
Msg: 77
Dating a person with mental illness scare u?
Posted: 3/22/2012 7:05:42 PM
aww i would not put depression and anxiety in the same category as schizophrenia and bipolar...totally different ball game there.
 trh1268
Msg: 78
view profile
History