Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Relationships  > privacy boundaries?      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 dmzvisitor
Msg: 26
privacy boundaries?Page 2 of 4    (1, 2, 3, 4)
If you feel there is a need for privacy in a committed relationship, then you and she may be on different pages. Talk about it and decide what compromise will work for each of you.

If I found letters in a drawer in a space my partner had lived alone but I recently moved into, I probably would not read them, but point it out and give him a chance to clean up his space for sharing. I'd point out that as a new resident, I expect I will find a few left-overs from his single days, and as a courtesy to that, I'd give him a chance to take care of his business.

If, after I had said this, and the letters were still there--taking up space--I'd ask if they were so important or could I toss them. If they were important, I'd ask him to put them someplace more appropriate--a filing cabinet, for example. Important papers don't belong in a junk drawer and I'd explain that if I'm cleaning, I'm tossing out stuff in the junk draw every so often. If he left them and they were not important enough to put somewhere safer, I'd toss them w/o reading them. But that's me.

BUT--when I found stuff my ex used to keep in weird places, I'd generally read before tossing b/c I didn't want to toss something important--he was not good about putting important papers where they belong. If I saw it was junk, I'd toss. If I saw it was important, I'd ask him to put it in the filing cabinet. If I had found something sexually explicit and undated? Yep, I'd be asking.'
 VirtuallyLove
Msg: 27
privacy boundaries?
Posted: 12/22/2011 7:25:14 AM