Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Art/Music  >      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 3BKeys
Msg: 67
view profile
History
Does anyone else play classical piano?Page 7 of 11    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11)
I would like to talk to some other classical musicians
 Musicphilosophy
Msg: 68
Classical music
Posted: 5/2/2007 7:13:47 PM
Absolutely! But then, I'm a composer by (off-hours) trade, so it's kind of natural.

But I'm much more an enthusiast of the more recent music. Iannis Xenakis, Edgard Varése, George Crumb, Carl Ruggles, Kaija Saariaho, Kalevi Aho, Steve Reich, Darius Milhaud, Thea Musgrave, them cats are the ones I'm most likely to spin up in winamp.
 Musicphilosophy
Msg: 69
Classical music
Posted: 5/3/2007 4:37:49 PM

Korngold is equally "known" as a composer of "classical" music, including at least one opera ("Queen of Sheba").

Another one that comes to mind is Nino Rota, the cat responsible for the soundtrack to The Godfather.

Nino's Trombone Concerto is an absolute standard in the trombone rep, and it often shows up in graduate recitals and once, even, on an orchestral program a few years back, though the specifics evade me.
 starrow
Msg: 70
view profile
History
Does anyone else appreciate Classical music?:)
Posted: 5/4/2007 2:16:53 AM

I enjoy classical. Much less than I used to, but it's the style I can handle best longest.

The same with you.
 Stray__Cat
Msg: 71
Classical music
Posted: 5/7/2007 11:14:45 AM
Bach!
Beethoven
Debussy
Saint Saens
Copeland
some Mozart.
 BRASS
Msg: 72
view profile
History
Classical music
Posted: 5/13/2007 2:39:43 PM