Notice: Forums will be shutdown by June 2019

To focus on better serving our members, we've decided to shut down the POF forums.

While regular posting is now disabled, you can continue to view all threads until the end of June 2019. Event Hosts can still create and promote events while we work on a new and improved event creation service for you.

Thank you!

Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Technology/Computers  >      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 chrono1985
Msg: 50
Linux distros who likes what?Page 3 of 8    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
I love Fedora, i'm a programmer that likes to get into the code and fix/add what i can, and Fedora so far has gave me the less headaches doing this. Also like Gentoo, though i can't get it to work properly on this HT system, it will randomly crash with a thread error (something with the hardware interface i think). As far as virtual machines, VMWare sucks, there is one on sourceforge, something comptuer, that works very well, but cuts off windows functions for a better hardware link when the virtual machine is in the focus.
 GeilerAffe
Msg: 52
Linux distros who likes what?
Posted: 3/25/2006 8:43:42 PM
I'm still a newbie in the Linux Arena, but I've tried SuSe, Knoppix axd recently Slax Killbill Live.
Slax was great because it could open all my windows apps, big problem is it wouldn't support my Wifi. Suse supported the Wifi but I had a few problems with it loosing the configurations and of course there was no support for the windows based chit I need to continue using.
Knoppix is a great intro into what linux can do.
As for what I like best, I'm still banging muh head on that one, I just wich I had time to look into it more.
 dude1112