Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Relationships  >      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 infennario
Msg: 99
Is it still expected that men pay for everythingPage 3 of 9    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Exactly what 1763 said. All of it.

I was paying my own way decades ago, mostly because I didn't like the "loan-shark" attitude I encountered from some men. I don't like being indebted, or having anyone believe I'm indebted to them.
 GreenIdm1
Msg: 100
Is it still expected that men pay for everything
Posted: 12/29/2011 12:51:48 PM
In a word, yes. I have a lot of experience handling this rather tricky subject. Here is my recommendation, based on what will be most beneficial to you with most 20-something women: Expect to pay, since you are the guy. If she is rude about this, saying something about "making you pay" because you are the guy, then that is a separate issue; the expectation that you will pay (even if she asked you out) is perfectly justified. Also, if she counter-offers to pay for her half, expect this to be a rather insincere gesture of politeness. She may be able and willing to pay, but the strong chances are, she wants you to say no. In response, say, "No, really, I've got this!" or something along those lines. Afterwards, I've never seen a woman really, really insist. I've even had one woman inform me I had "passed the test." I've only said, "OK, that's fine. You can pay for yours," with one woman who I was 100% positive was into me (I was being coy), and with a couple of other women who I wasn't that into. Accepting her counter-offer to pay is on of the strongest ways you can signal to her "Let's just be friends," so use it accordingly. Keep in mind this advice pertain