Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Over 45  >      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 Rob_SA
Msg: 71
Speed Dating for SeniorsPage 2 of 7    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)
djawjuh said: What is there to fear? Rejection? Happens all the time. Nobody amongs the folks I've read could possibly be a sales person, a trial lawyer or be in any occupation that requires selling ones self.

An interesting take on the subject. There are the salespeople who totally believe in themselves and their product. There are the salespeople who use all the "Dale Carnegie" tactics to make the sale whether they believe in the product or not, somewhat like the trial lawyers. I've been a salesman, I know the tricks, I know that the secret of success is sincerity and once you've can fake that you've got it made.

I can see that speed dating would work as a tool to generate contacts and one off dates, but I'd be surprised if it would lead to long term relationships. It's like people joining Rotary or Lions because they have no time to nurture friendships that lead to a social life so they piggy-back onto an existing structure and that may lead to the friendships they seek. I'm 52, I've been around the block a few times, I've lied and been lied to, I've tried to change people and had people try to change me. I see any dating experience as being a bit like a crocodile sitting a river with just his eyes and nostrils above the water, hoping that something nice will come along but accepting that the feed he gets every few months will have to do, even if it tastes like cr ap.
 kari135
Msg: 73
view profile
History
Speed Dating for Seniors
Posted: 12/23/2009 12:05:31 PM