Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Off Topic  > toxic workplace      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 avpd
Msg: 1
toxic workplacePage 1 of 1    
Has anyone dealt with a toxic workplace situation? How did you handle it? Did it get better or did you have to quit and get another job? I realize this will be a difficult question for people to answer if they are currently in a bad workplace. I have heard of employers firing people for things they wrote in online blogs. So please be careful people. I am being careful here. I don't have a pic up.

I have been working at that place for many years. It was a good job until about4 years ago when they reorganized and I got a new supervisor. It didn't get really bad until a couple of years ago. My boss overworks me and then tells me to work overtime without pay to save money. He did not put this in writing so I cannot prove it. I have been working 15 minutes over many days without putting in overtime. My boss also threatened to fire me for insubordination when I tried refusing to do work that I didn't have time to do.

Then my assistant left and my boss gave me someone from another department. He tells me that he really likes this guy. The new guy shows up late a lot and takes too many breaks. Then he says we are allowed to have 30 minute paid breaks in addition to our 30 minute unpaid breaks. I told my boss and my boss aid it was true. I've never gotten any paid break at all. I take my 30 minute unpaid break.