Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Health Wellness  > increasing resistance/weight      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 smartypants24
Msg: 1
increasing resistance/weightPage 1 of 2    (1, 2)
I've been working out steadily and regularly since April of 2009, in an effort to get in better shape and lose some body fat. Generally, when I work out I use machines, and memorize the weights I use for each machine (ie tricep pushdown is currently at 40 lb, pec deck is at 25 lb, etc etc.) I tend to make sure that I work my muscles enough that I don't feel sore, but there is a feeling of prolonged...fatigue (in a good way. I feel great, but I can feel all my muscles have definitely been used well the night before lol)...if that makes any sense, for most of the next day. When this feeling in the 1-2 days after a workout stops happening, I add another five lb to the weights.

My question to the gurus that hang out in the health forum is....is this proper technique for maintaining muscle mass during weight loss? My main goal in resistance training is to boost my metabolism, not necessarily to get ripped, but I have noticed some increased mass and tone, especially in my arms and legs, which I work 2-3 times per week, with a rest day in between, but I'm not sure if it was there to begin with, and I am noticing it because there's less fat on top, or if it's actually been an increase...

I also get plenty of cardio, as I walk daily to and from work, am on my feet chasing toddlers for most of the day, as well as an approximately 2 miles of running/brisk jogging as a warm up before I start my weight circuits. I've gone from around 290 in February of 2009 to 230 at my weigh in this past Sunday :)