Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Science/philosophy  > Teaching and its pedagogy      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 big pacific
Msg: 2
view profile
History
Teaching and its pedagogyPage 1 of 2    (1, 2)
LOL thats a riot.

It really depends on what you want them to learn. For all the 40-60 somethings that think kids now are uneducated, I'd say yes in the cities. But they were uneducated when YOU were a kid too, you just didn't TEST them back then.

I had my first semester of COLLEGE done when i graduated high school. By the time I had graduated i had 3 years of calc and a great understanding of the material, but a poor understanding of how to get there on my own. My homework was beyond my parents high school education at 8th grade, I was doing algebra my parents did their senior year in 7th grade. Kids now are taught more than you were in terms of volume of knowledge. Period.

And i'm not some special snowflake of brilliance either. You have to pick your poison, you can go back to the narrow scope of education from the 60's and learn the process of learning, OR we can fill heads with as much as possible and the METHOD for learning is lost.

You gotta pick which you want, diverse and shallow, or small scope and deep.
 big pacific
Msg: 3
view profile
History
Teaching and its pedagogy
Posted: 1/19/2010 12:39:09 PM
Absolutely, and you are right. That being said, I went to 13 different public schools in my time, all up and down the east coast and my experience was pretty similar. I'm a military brat, from humble backrounds and average intelligence.