Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Off Topic  > Questionable Hiring Practices      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 RSwindol
Msg: 1
view profile
History
Questionable Hiring PracticesPage 1 of 1    
So I am currently in the market for a new job. I resigned from my last job last week. I have been working in the Aerospace industry for the last several years and would like to continue in that same industry. Yesterday, I came across a situation that I never thought I would encounter.

Last November, a friend of mine who works at another local aerospace company (not a competitor) told me they they had a position open for a supervisor and that I should submit my resume, which I did. I never heard anything back from the company. So when I submitted my two week notice with the company a few weeks ago, I sent them yet another resume. Again, I heard nothing.

Yesterday, my friend who originally told me about the position, came by my house and said that he had heard that I had quit my job and that it was a good thing because my company and his company had a deal that they wouldn't hire each other's employees. That if someone from one company submitted a resume to the other company, it would just be thrown in the garbage and not even considered, but now that I had quit, I could be interviewed.

I now have an interview set up for the end of this week. And it's all because I quit my last job.

Has anyone ever heard of this kind of situation? Is this even legal? These two companies have basically made a deal to basically eliminate local salary competition, and none of the average Joe floor workers are aware of this. If not illegal, this is obviously highly unethical any way you look at it.