Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Science/philosophy  > megalithic construction      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 Ravenstar66
Msg: 1
view profile
History
megalithic constructionPage 1 of 17    (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17)
I am no engineer, physicist.. really have no disciplines in this area

BUT... I look at the worlds megalithic sites, from the pyramids to Baalbek to the ruins in south and central America, to Stonehenge, etc...the list is enormous... and I've read some of the various theories as to their construction.. and it still doesn't make sense how so many people and cultures who were not known to have any technology (or very little) some didn't even have the wheel, much less pulleys, block and tackle, etc... could possible quarry, move great distances, and construct buildings and monuments that we today would either have difficulty doing or patently could not do. Some were built BEFORE the use of iron... (?) Some of these megaliths date from before the written word (or to historians - history as we know it)

I am not arguing that the ancients were stupid, obviously that isn't the case, but from what we know their civilizations were not technologically based - yet they performed feats of engineering that are frankly - staggering, and we find more and more evidence of clearly high level planning (aqueducts, inddor plumbing, irrigation...etc...) all the time as archaeology uncovers more of the past.

My question is, considering the scope of these works, the tools we know they had and the time involved how the heck did they accomplish these things? Personally I think we are missing some essential piece of this puzzle.
 Bodhisattva75
Msg: 2