Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Science/philosophy  > So how does this online dating thing work anyways?      Home login  
 AUTHOR
Msg: 1
So how does this online dating thing work anyways?Page 1 of 1    
So I'm new to online dating, and this feels very different from what I'm use to. Usually when I meet a girl that I like in person, I'm confident, I'll make eye contact, smile and try to come up with something clever or funny to say. I usually get my foot through the door. I can't say I've been rejected much. But it's completely different here. There's no spontaneity, no spark or anything like that. It seems to me like all the cute/pretty girls are getting messaged maybe 50 times a day, so they really have their pick of their "perfect guy", which is fine, but doesn't work so great for me, because I'm short and Asian. I'm not complaining because I know that for the most part, women of all races find me attractive to some extent. But I just feel like when most American girls think of their "perfect guy", it usually isn't a short Asian guy, lol, regardless of other factors. But face to face, my intangibles usually help me overcome any physical or racial reservations a girl may have towards me when I'm being clever, funny, and confident. Being a law student also helps too. But it seems like those intangibles don't really matter as much online because a girl can just ignore me if I don't fall under her idea of the "perfect guy," and she can afford to wait around for her perfect guy because she's getting messaged 50 times a day. I guess the point I'm trying to make is that when I flirt in person, what matters are my qualifiers, what makes me special to her, and the spark