Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Single Parents  > First time dating as a single mother      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 crystaldenise29
Msg: 1
First time dating as a single motherPage 1 of 1    
I am new to the dating scene as a single mother and feel clueless. I get worried about who my ex is going to date and bring around my kids, and I am skeptical when talking to men. I am willing to listen to any advice about dating as a single parent.
 Pete2205
Msg: 2
view profile
History
First time dating as a single mother
Posted: 3/7/2013 4:17:16 PM
I can only speak as my daughter finds it. She has a two year old and at 21 has to handle the fact that her ex is now with someone else. She herself is dating a nice guy so both have moved on relationship wise.

I think its natural that you both should be concerned about who comes into your childs life and at what point they start becoming involved. Its also easy to make judgements on the person your ex is seeing and come to instant conclusions about wether they are the "Right sort of person" to be part of your childs life.

My daughter was wise enough to find a baby sitter when she started dating her new guy until she felt comfortable about introducing him to my grandson. Only you can decide when that time is right and no matter what your ex might think or you might think of his choice of girlfriend you both have to accept that its not what you think that matters - You each have to trust each other enough to make sound sensible decisions with regards your childs welfare.