Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > UK forums  > English language      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 10ky
Msg: 1
English language Page 1 of 2    (1, 2)
While I cannae deny that I find English pretty tough, I must also admit that I find any language tough, and that has been that way since I was born. I cannae really spell was it not for the spell-checker and I've never even bothered with grammar and shite like that because I was busy doing other stuff. On here, I've been bashed a lot in the past for my inadequate use of the English language despite my best efforts. I suppose I'd be pissed off too if someone had to butcher my language although I have no direct experience of that. I have now decided to try and improve.

Would you, as native speakers, be kind enough to comment (ideally honestly) on my English and offer tips on how to improve in an efficient way (I cannae dedicate a lot of time to this unfortunately)?

If you happen to be a pretty, please let me know whether you give pronunciation lessons too.

Danke in advance. x
 Justanotherchap
Msg: 2
view profile
History
English language
Posted: 7/2/2018 4:20:49 AM
If you had spoken to my Mother using the words you wrote above she would have told you off.

"shite" is unacceptable. "pissed off" is not too polite either. "Cannae" is some sort of butchering of english to appear scottish. "Danke" is german.

I think you can manage english very well if you choose to.
 imanorangetiger
Msg: 3
view profile
History
English language
Posted: 7/2/2018 5:13:31 AM