Notice: Forums will be shutdown by June 2019

To focus on better serving our members, we've decided to shut down the POF forums.

While regular posting is now disabled, you can continue to view all threads until the end of June 2019. Event Hosts can still create and promote events while we work on a new and improved event creation service for you.

Thank you!

Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Relationships  > Honest question      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 aquaandorange14
Msg: 1
view profile
History
Honest questionPage 1 of 2    (1, 2)
Hey all,

I'm a licensed social worker, so I have continuing education classes to take in order to keep my license. Recently, I finished one focused on telling parents their child has been assaulted. Something popped in my head though: what happens if you get involved with someone that already has kids, and they claim you abused them, when you didn't? It's not uncommon for kids to claim their mom/dad's new s/o did something like that in order to keep the possibility of their parents getting back together alive, or to ensure that noboody else "steals" that parent's attention away from the child. Even if you did nothing wrong, you are still screwed/guilty. Guys, and even some women are "fingered" for something like that, and they lose everything. Personally, I've busted my butt earning my education, license, etc. If I ever decide to date, I don't think I'd even entertain the possibility of dating someone with kids; especially a pre-teen or teen girl. She may be a great catch, but fear would stop me cold, and I don't believe I'd ever think twice. So, what's everyone's feelings about something like this?
Honest question