Plentyoffish dating forums are a place to meet singles and get dating advice or share dating experiences etc. Hopefully you will all have fun meeting singles and try out this online dating thing... Remember that we are the largest free online dating service, so you will never have to pay a dime to meet your soulmate.

Show ALL Forums  > Art/Music  > Is it too late to learn to play an instrument?      Home login  
 AUTHOR
 DenaliDadd
Msg: 1
Is it too late to learn to play an instrument?Page 1 of 3    (1, 2, 3)
I'm 58 and have loved music of all kinds for my whole life. My mother was a classically trained pianist and opera singer and I used to be a pretty fair drummer as a kid (good enough to have gotten a scholarship to a very well-known music school in Boston; I preferred small combo jazz) but I never really learned to read music well enough and my Mom never "made" me take music lessons, so I have no formal training in any instrument, including drums.

So is it too late to start at my age?
 Malley
Msg: 2
Is it too late to learn to play an instrument?
Posted: 2/16/2008 9:47:31 PM
The important question here OP is do you think you're too old ???
I see no reason why anyone, of any age, would let the number of years they've been on this earth become a barrier between them and what they wish to accomplish.
Better late than never
Don't put a limit on yourself !!!
Go for it
 The inferno of ambition
Msg: 3
Posted: 2/16/2008 10:25:52 PM
it's never too late . . . why not learn?

my suggestion though is to make sure (provided you go this route) is to find an EXCELLENT teacher . . .not a "good" one, not an "alright" one . . . an EXCELLENT one. they have to have the right attitude and mesh with you on top of knowing what they should be teaching inside and out
 nipoleon
Msg: 4
view profile
History
Posted: 2/17/2008 2:33:46 AM
It's never too late to learn to play an instrument.
However, it may be too late to become very good at it.