Notice: Forums will be shutdown by June 2019

To focus on better serving our members, we've decided to shut down the POF forums.

While regular posting is now disabled, you can continue to view all threads until the end of June 2019. Event Hosts can still create and promote events while we work on a new and improved event creation service for you.

Thank you!

Show ALL Forums
Posted In Forum:

Home   login   MyForums  

Author Thread: Googling someone before meeting them: ethical or not?
 Zamrod
Msg: 44 (view)

Googling someone before meeting them: ethical or not?
Posted: 4/5/2010 10:54:04 PM
Being an IT professional, I can tell you that Google can be VERY effective at finding information on people. I'm wary of doing it because I have more experience forming useful Google searches than most people.

If you just know someone's name, you are probably never going to find anything about them(depending on the rarity of the name). On the other hand, if you know their username on this site, their list of interests(especially their favorite interest), and possibly an e-mail address in addition to their name, it's very possible to find all sorts of things on the internet that people don't want found.

I think the average person would be very surprised what a detailed search of them comes up with. In the past when I've tried it I've come up with things like: A list of all of their friends, pictures of them going back 10 or 20 years, online journals, lists of sports teams people have been on, etc, etc.